WAIKIKI - Hawaii's best and brightest public school students were honored today. Forty-two seniors from high schools across the Hawaiian Islands each received a $1,000 scholarship for their post-graduate educations from the Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association (HLTA) at the 'Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach.

The Citizen-Scholar Awards is a 15-year partnership of the HLTA, the Honolulu Star-Advertiser, and the State of Hawaii Department of Education. Funding is provided by HLTA members. In addition to the individual awards, one top student representing each of the state’s four counties won an additional $2,500 scholarship from HLTA.

KITV4's Diane Ako and former KITV4 anchor Yunji DeNies emceed the program.

The Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association is a non-profit, statewide trade organization of lodging properties, lodging owners and management companies, suppliers, and related firms and individuals. It is the state’s largest private sector tourism organization with 700 members representing the state’s leading industry, 170 of which are lodging properties with almost 50,500 rooms.