HONOLULU - Attorneys General from Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Vermont and Wisconsin have joined Hawaii's Attorney General, Clare E. Connors. in challenging President Trump's declaration of a national emergency to divert funding appropriated by Congress for other purposes. 

The 20 state coalition alleges that the Trump Administration's emergency declaration and attempt to divert funds is unconstitutional and 'otherwise unlawful.'

“We will stand with our colleagues to ensure the President does not harm our communities by diverting funds appropriated by Congress,” said Attorney General Connors. 

The group plans to block the emergency declaration, construction of the border wall, and any diversion of Congressionally-appropriated funds.

"Unlawful southern border entries are within historic lows, immigrants are less likely than native-born citizens to commit crimes, and illegal drugs are more likely to come through official ports of entry," a press release from the Hawaii Attorney General read.

California Attorney General Xavier Becerra is leading the coalition, which includes the attorneys general of Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.