WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Senators Mazie Hirono (D-Hawaii) and Kamala Harris (D-Calif.) along with nine other senators urging Senate and House leaders to pass disaster supplemental legislation which included relief for Hawaii, Tribal Nationals, U.S. Territories and other states.

"In 2018 alone, 124 federal disaster declarations were approved for states, territories, and tribal nations across our country. These disasters, which have come in a variety of forms including severe storms, hurricanes, earthquakes, wildfires, and volcanic activity, have placed a severe strain on our local communities’ resources,” the Senators wrote.

Other political leaders who signed the letter are as follows: Senators Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Doug Jones (D-Ala.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Bernie Sanders (D-Vt.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), and Ron Wyden (D-Ore.).

Political leaders wrote in the letter that it is 'unacceptable' if no action is taken to help these communities.

"Providing desperately needed relief to impacted communities should be a bipartisan, bicameral priority and continued inaction is unacceptable. As such, we urge you to bring legislation providing disaster supplemental appropriations to your respective floors for consideration immediately," the letter read. 

To view the full letter, click here.