The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced on Tuesday five Finalists for the 2018 Polynesian High School Football Player of the Year Award. The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior high school football player of Polynesian Ancestry.  Crescent Valley High School (Corvallis, OR) and current University of Southern California Safety Talanoa Hufanga was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2017.

The five Finalists include RB George Holani (St. John Bosco High School; Bellflower, California), WR Puka Nacua (Orem High School; Orem, Utah), QB Taulia Tagovailoa (Thompson High School; Alabaster, Alabama), LB Henry To'oto'o (De La Salle High School; Concord, California) and DL Faatui Tuitele (St. Louis School; Honolulu, Hawaii). The Finalists were selected from a Watch List of nearly 50 players.

“This award showcases the immense talent of our Polynesian student-athletes in high school football today,” said Jesse Sapolu, Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman and Co-Founder. “We congratulate to each Finalist and their families.”

The Finalists will be recognized during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend on Oahu, Hawaii. The Player of the Year will be announced (and honored) during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner on January 18 (Sheraton Waikiki), and again at halftime of the Polynesian Bowl (Aloha Stadium) on January 19.