The first nine stations along the Ewa side of Honolulu's rail line will carry Hawaiian names, each one signifying traditional places names in the area.  

The Honolulu Authority for Rapid Transportation's Board of Directors approved the names Thursday, based on input received during a public comment period that began last November.

The Pearlridge station name was changed from the proposed name Pu'uloa Station to Kalauao Station.

Other station names selected along the stretch running from the Kroc Center in Kapolei to Aloha Stadium include: Kualaka'i, Keone'ae, Honouliuli, Ho 'ae 'ae, Pouhala, Halaulani, Waiawa and Halawa.

The Hawaiian Station Names Working Group is beginning discussions to name the remaining twelve rail stations. The proposal list is expected to be completed later this year.