It was a packed crowd at the Governor's home to honor this year's winner Stephanie Mew who teaches third-graders at Kapunahala Elementary School in Kaneohe.

The honor is presented annually to a classroom teacher selected from more than 11,000 educators within the Hawaii State Department of Education. Mew was among seven District Teachers of the Year recognized on Friday.

“I just couldn’t believe it. I don’t think I’m that special. These other teachers here are awesome. Just happy to represent public school teachers,” said Mew.

Mew earned a Masters Degree in Elementary Education from Chaminade University, a Masters Degree in Social Work from the University of Hawaii at Manoa, and a diploma and advanced diploma from the Institute of Sathya Sai Education in Thailand.

She has taught at Kapunahala Elementary for 13 years and previously worked as an instructor at Chaminade University and the Montessori Hale O Keiki on Maui.

Other teachers recognized were David Bruan, Alicia Chang, Kathy Lin, Joy Aulani Takatsuka, Lynn Yoshioka, and Darryl Yagi.

Next April, President Obama will announce the National Teacher of the Year.