UH's Lopez, Heen Earn All-Big West Honors - Honolulu, Hawaii news, sports & weather - KITV Channel 4

UH's Lopez, Heen Earn All-Big West Honors

Posted: Updated:

(Hawaii Athletics) - University of Hawai‘i softball players Nicole Lopez and Callee Heen were named to the All-Big West First and Second Team respectively on Tuesday.

Lopez, a junior third baseman from ‘Aiea, O‘ahu, was named to her second-straight all-Big West first team. In her career, she has started in 156 straight games at third. She was steady all season and finished the year hitting .306 with a team-high 49 hits in 160 at-bats. She was tied for a team-best 26 runs scored and six doubles with Heen and was second on the squad with eight home runs and eight home runs. Lopez also led UH going 4-for-5 in stolen bases. It is her third all-conference honor, she was named All-BWC Freshman Field Player of the Year and earned honorable mention and all-freshman team honors in 2016.

Heen, a sophomore catcher/designated player, started all 50 games this year (30 at catcher and 20 as the designated player). She finished the season hitting a team-best .333 (45-for-135). Heen was tied with Lopez with team-highs of 26 runs scored and six doubles and led the Rainbow Wahine with 14 home runs, 37 RBI, 24 walks and a .704 slugging percentage. She also led UH with 10 multiple-hit games, nine multiple-RBI games and had a team-best 14-game hitting streak. Overall she finished second in the Big West in home runs, slugging percentage; fifth in RBI; and eighth in walks.  Last year as a freshman, Heen earned all-Big West Honorable Mention honors and was voted to the All-Freshman Team as well.

Long Beach State claimed three of the honors as Cielo Meza was named Pitcher of the Year, Naomi Hernandez earned Freshman Field Player of the Year and Kim Sowder claimed a share of the Coach of the Year honor. Sowder claimed the award with Kelly Ford of regular season champion Cal State Fullerton, marking the first time since 2008 that the league’s top coaching honor was shared. CSUN’s Savannah Horvath was named Player of the Year while Defensive Player of the Year accolades went to Hannah Rodriguez of UC Riverside. The Freshman Pitcher of the Year honor went to UC Davis’ Brooke Yanez.