Quantcast

No. 3 UH Men's Volleyball Makes First Big West Road Trip - Honolulu, Hawaii news, sports & weather - KITV Channel 4

No. 3 UH Men's Volleyball Makes First Big West Road Trip

Posted: Updated:

(HAWAII ATHLETICS) - The third-ranked University of Hawai'i men's volleyball team will make its first trip to the mainland in two months with three matches this weekend in southern California. The Rainbow Warriors (13-3, 1-1 BW), which dropped one spot in latest AVCA Coaches Poll after suffering a four-set loss to BYU, will travel to No. 10 CSUN for a two-match Big West series, Thursday, March 15 and Friday, March 16 and No. 7 Pepperdine for a non-conference match, Sunday March 18.
 
Despite the loss to the Cougars, Hawai'i concluded its seven-week homestand by finishing 2-1 in the 24th Outrigger Resorts Invitational with straight-set wins over Lewis and Penn State. UH's three losses this season have come to teams ranked in the Top 5.
 
The Matadors (10-7, 0-2 BW) snapped a three-match skid with a pair of non-conference wins over George Mason and Harvard last week at The Matadome. CSUN is 6-2 at home this season with its only losses to Concordia-Irvine and top-ranked Long Beach State.
 
Pepperdine (10-6, 4-3 MPSF) dropped a pair of matches to UCLA and Loyola. The Waves has lost three of their last four matches after winning eight of nine during a four-week stretch.
 
UH has won the last eight meetings with CSUN and last four against Pepperdine.
 
Matches #17-18
Who: No. 3 Hawai'i (13-3, 1-1 BW) vs. No. 10 CSUN (10-7, 0-2 BW)
When: Thursday, March 15 and Friday, March 16
Time: 7:00 p.m. PT (4:00 p.m. HT) each day
Where: The Matadome; Northridge, Calif.
Streaming Video: www.gomatadors.com
Live Stats: www.gomatadors.com
 
Match #19
Who: No. 3 Hawai'i (13-3) vs. No. 7 Pepperdine (10-6)
When: Sunday, March 18
Time: 5:00 p.m. PT (2:00 p.m. HT)
Where: Firestone Fieldhouse; Malibu, Calif.
Streaming Video: www.pepperdinewaves.com
Live Stats: www.pepperdinewaves.com