World's Best Surfers Honored at WSL Awards - Honolulu, Hawaii news, sports & weather - KITV Channel 4

World's Best Surfers Honored at WSL Awards

Posted: Updated:

(World Surf League) - The world’s best surfers were honored Thursday at the World Surf League (WSL) Awards -- the event that celebrates the achievements of the 2017 season and officially opens the 2018 WSL Championship Tour (CT) year. 

Recognition was delivered to those who have contributed to the sport, including the Heat of the Year, Breakthrough Performers and the WSL Champions across all Tours.

Heat of the Year: Lakey Peterson (USA) vs. Carissa Moore (HAW) Quarterfinal at Trestles / Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Julian Wilson (AUS) Final in Tahiti 

Move of the Year: Carissa Moore (HAW) at Trestles / John John Florence (HAW) at Margaret River

Wave of the Year: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) in Maui / Filipe Toledo (BRA) at J-Bay 

WSL Junior Champions: Vahine Fiera (PYF) and Finn McGill (HAW) 

WSL Longboard Champions: Honolua Blomfield (HAW) and Taylor Jensen (USA) 

WSL Big Wave Tour Champions: Paige Alms (HAW) and Billy Kemper (HAW)

CT Rookies of the Year: Bronte Macaulay (AUS) and Connor O’Leary (AUS) 

WSL Women's Runner-Up: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS)

WSL Men's Runner-Up: Gabriel Medina (BRA)

WSL Women's Champion: Tyler Wright (AUS)

WSL Men's Champion: John John Florence (HAW)

The 2018 WSL CT will commence with the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast, starting Sunday, March 11 through March 22, 2018. 

For more information, check out WorldSurfLeague.com.