Mountain West to have football title game

Hawaii will be in West Division with Pacific Time Zone teams

 UPDATED 1:35 PM HST Jan 22, 2013

The Mountain West conference voted Tuesday to hold a conference football championship game on Saturday, Dec. 7 and split the conference into two divisions, according to ESPN.

The divisions will be named "Mountain" and "West."  Hawaii, Fresno State, Nevada, UNLV, San Diego State,  and San Jose State will be in the West Division.  Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming will be in the Mountain Division.

All of the West Division teams, except Hawaii, will be in the Pacific Time Zone.  All of the Mountain Division teams are in the Mountain Time Zone.

The division champion with the highest BCS ranking would host the title game.

UH scheduled Brigham Young University for Dec. 7 and may have to reschedule the game.

It has not yet been decided which network will televise the championship.

The Mountain West will be the seventh conference with a football championship game this fall with the ACC, Big Ten, Conference USA, Mid-American, Pac-12, and SEC.  The only leagues without a conference title game are the Big 12, Big East and Sun Belt.

Do you want to print this page now?