Caldwell, Democrats win big in General Election

Kenoi wins close Big Island mayor contest

 UPDATED 1:35 AM HST Nov 07, 2012

Kirk Caldwell was one of the big winners of the 2012 General Election in Hawaii.  He defeated anti-rail candidate and former governor Ben Cayetano for the Honolulu mayoral seat with 54 percent of the vote.

Rep. Mazie Hirono will be the first Asian-American woman to hold a U.S. Senate seat after she soundly beat another former governor Linda Lingle with 63 percent of the vote.

Taking Hirono's place in the U.S. House will be former Honolulu councilwoman Tulsi Gabbard who dominated Kawika Crowley with 81 percent of the vote.

While the race for Honolulu mayor may have been decided after the first printout, it took four printouts to find out who won the Hawaii County mayoral position.  Incumbent Billy Kenoi held off a valiant charge by former mayor Harry Kim winning by only 1,457 votes.

Colleen Hanabusa retained her U.S. House seat with a win over former congressman Charles Djou.  Hanabusa won 55 percent of the vote compared to Djou's 45 percent.

Sen. Carol Fukunaga will soon become a Honolulu councilwoman after she won the special election for Gabbard's former council seat.  She held off other notable politicians like former councilman Jon Yoshimura and former state representative Sam Aiona.

Rep. Kymberly Marcos Pine will also join the Honolulu City Council after defeating incumbent Tom Berg in a landslide, 64 percent to 36 percent.

Click here for more Nov. 6 election results.

PHOTOS: Election Day in Hawaii
1 of 52

Voters in Hawaii lined up early, when polls opened at 7 a.m., at McKinley High School.


Do you want to print this page now?