No tsunami threat for Hawaii from South Pacific earthquake

Tsunami warning posted in South Pacific

Published  3:25 PM HST Feb 05, 2013
EWA BEACH, Hawaii -

The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center says there is no threat to Hawaii after a magnitude-8.0 earthquake in the South Pacific Tuesday afternoon.

A tsunami warning was in effect for the Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Nauru, Papua New Guinea, Tuvalu, New Caledonia, Kosrae, Fiji, Kiribati and Wallis and Futuna after a magnitude-8.0 earthquake near the Santa Cruz Islands.

The first wave came into Lata Wharf in the Solomon Islands at 3:29 p.m. Hawaii time and the measurement is 3-feet-tall.

The earthquake struck at around 3:12 p.m. Hawaii time.

The U.S. Geological Survey reported at least five aftershocks with the strongest being a magnitude of 6.6

A tsunami watch was also posted for Marshall Islands, Howland and Baker, Pohnpei, Tokelau, Samoa, Kermadec Islands, New Zealand, American Samoa, Tonga, Australia, Niue, Cook Islands, Indonesia, Wake Island, Chuuk, Jarvis Island, Guam, Northern Marianas, Palmyra Island, Yap, Johnston Island, Minamitorishima, Belau, Midway Island, French Polynesia, Philippines, and Japan.

All warnings and watches were cancelled just before 6 p.m. Hawaii time.

Get breaking news alerts through email or through our KITV iPhone, Android and iPad apps.

8.0-magnitude earthquake
8.0-magnitude earthquake

Do you want to print this page now?